23 Things I Learned in My 23 Years of Existence

We all have our fair share of challenges and hang-ups; and with it, comes lessons.

We all have our fair share of challenges and hang-ups; and with it, comes lessons.
 
The last two years of my life have brought me a whole new level of struggles (2015 was the worst for me!), so I’ve come to a shameful point wherein I would hate on life whenever something unfortunate happens to me. And sometimes, I would ask God in my prayers, “I’m a good person (or at least, I try to be)!! Why does bad things happen to me?”
That’s the truth most people do not know about me, because usually I’m a positive person. And also, because I think I’m very good at hiding what I really feel.
But now, with the love of God, my family, and friends, I’m slowly embracing my defeats and failures.
And, since my 24th birthday is coming (TOMORROW!!! Yaaay!! 🎈), I’ve decided to round up a list of the things I’ve learned in this borrowed life of mine (with a little inspiration from one of my favorites,Vern Enciso. Read her own take of the topic mentioned here). Here are the 23 things I’ve learned from the teacher we all call Life, who has been teaching me harshly but patiently for the last 23 years.

 

  1. Life won’t stop for you. It won’t even pause for a second to see if you’re doing okay. It just goes on. So you must, too.
  2. Health is wealth. Yes, you’re young, but don’t forget: you’re also getting old (how confusing is that!) Take care of your physical and emotional self.
  3. Your family isn’t perfect, and you aren’t, too. But I’m sure as hell they’ll be there for you no matter what!
  4. Save, save, save! It doesn’t matter how much you’re earning. Just do it. If you think you can’t commit yet with a huge amount, start with a piggy bank and some spare change.
  5. Pursue your passion; even if that passion seems too irrelevant and odd from what you’ve majored in in college.
  6. It’s okay to cry and be scared. Were all human.
  7. The things that matter today might not matter at all tomorrow, or in the next few weeks or years. Save your energy for more important things.
  8. You’ll face a lot of deadlines, and you’ll deal with so much pressure. They will all require your energy, time and effort. Learn to prioritize.
  9. Your heart will be broken, even by the people you trust the most. But still, love truly and fiercely.
  10. You deserve a break. Be it a luxurious out-of-town or a simple stay-at-home-and-binge-watch staycation, just go and get it.
  11. There are bullies everywhere, and they come in different face and forms. They will try to break your spirit and crush your hope. Be strong in dealing with them.
  12. In reaching your goals, there will be hindrances. But never let it distract you.
  13. People will always have something to say about you, no matter what you do. Just ignore them.
  14. Some of what you hope for will not happen, even if you worked hard for it. Life won’t always go your way.
  15. There will be times you’ll get broke, and that’s okay. You’ll still be able to eat thrice (or more) a day. Trust me.
  16. Always be grounded. This is one of the most ancient morals we have, yet one of the most important. Keep it in mind.
  17. Sometimes, even the littlest and silliest things will test your patience. And it’s alright.
  18. Not everyone will earn your respect. But still, do respect them.
  19. We should always, always be grateful: for the things that we have and even for those we don’t have.
  20. Never stop learning. Even if you think you know everything you should know. I’m telling you: you don’t.
  21. It’s okay to be inclined to something others won’t understand, as long as it doesn’t hurt anybody.
  22. Traveling helps. It doesn’t matter how far your destination is. As long as you move, you’ll grow (I’m sure frequent travelers here will relate to this).
  23. It’s okay to take blame for something you didn’t do. You’ll gain something even more precious.
  24. BONUS: Sometimes, doing nothing is the best thing to do. Sometimes, it’s better to just let God do what He wants to do with Your life.

 

 

And that concludes my list!
I could sit here all day, recounting and writing about everything I have learned from my experiences, but I think I’ve already shared with you the most essential.
What about you? Do you have something to share that isn’t included yet?
L♥

Author: wenwoldan

A 23-year-old girl, trying to blog for the nth time.

2 thoughts on “23 Things I Learned in My 23 Years of Existence”

  1. I love you . And I am so happy that you are growing . Happy birthday love . 😘😘😘 God bless you always . See you sooon . ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.